Name: SUSTAINABLE MADISON COMMITTEE

Type: Committee/Dept/Board/Commission

Description: Madison General Ordinance Sec. 33.31 - The Sustainable Madison Committee takes a leadership

role in the promotion of sustainability and environmental protection for the City of Madison, the Madison community, and the region. The committee consists of fifteen (15) members plus three alternates: at least one (1) Common Council member, one (1) Board of Public Works member (who may also be a Council member), and thirteen (13) various experts or community representatives with an interest in sustainability (no more than two (2) of whom may also be Council members). Members shall, collectively, represent the following areas of expertise: (1) Air, (2) water, (3) energy, (4) transportation and land use, (5) food, (6) the built environment, (7) finance, economics and workforce, (8) culture (health, education, arts), and (9) environmental protection. The Mayor shall strive to appoint members drawn from the following portions of the community: Neighborhood groups, sustainability activists, business people, educational institutions and the development community. Members and alternates are appointed by the Mayor and approved by the Common Council. Members and alternates shall be appointed for a term of two years, with terms expiring June 30 with the exception of aldermanic members and the Board of Public Works member. The term of aldermanic members shall expire with the expiration of their terms as alders and the term of the Board of Public Works member shall expire with their term on Board of Public Works. Formerly the Sustainable Design and Energy

Name	Title	Start Date	End Date	
VACANCY	Resident Member	1/12/2024		
Appointed By: Mayor/Council		1/12/2021		
VACANCY	Resident Member	1/2/2024		
Appointed By: Mayor/Council				
MGR Govindarajan	Common Council Member	4/18/2023	4/15/2025	
Appointed By: Mayor/Council Confirms				
Nikki Conklin	Board of Public Works	4/18/2023	4/15/2025	
Appointed By: Mayor/Council Confirms				
Nasra Wehelie	Common Council or Resident	5/16/2023	4/15/2025	
Appointed By: Mayor/Council Confirms				
John P. Guequierre	Common Council or Resident	11/21/2023	4/15/2025	
Appointed By: Mayor/Council Confirms				
Heather M. Driscoll	Resident Member	5/18/2021	6/30/2025	
Appointed By: Mayor/Council Confirms				
Lance E. Green	Resident Member	9/4/2012	6/30/2024	
Appointed By: Mayor/Council Confirms				
Susan B. Millar	Resident Member	5/2/2023	6/30/2025	
Appointed By: Mayor/Council Confirms				
Samantha M. Worden	Resident Member	5/2/2023	6/30/2024	
Appointed By: Mayor/Council Confirms				

Committee. Ordinance amended per ORD-12-00073, file id 25387 6/12/2012.

Erinn Monroe-Nye	Resident Member	11/21/2023	6/30/2025		
Appointed By: Mayor/Council Confirms					
Kai L. Brito	Resident Member	2/1/2022	6/30/2025		
Appointed By: Mayor & County Executive/Council Confirms					
Riley P. Willman	Resident Member	11/21/2023	6/30/2025		
Appointed By: Mayor/Council Confirms					
E. Cristina Carvajal	Resident Member	2/1/2022	6/30/2025		
Appointed By: Mayor/Council Confirms					
Samuel J. Dunaiski	Resident Member	3/3/2020	6/30/2024		
Appointed By: Mayor/Council Confirms					
Xanthe Z. Saalmann	First Alternate	11/21/2023	6/30/2024		
Appointed By: Mayor/Council Confirms					
Kimberly Cho	Second Alternate	11/21/2023	6/30/2024		
Appointed By: Mayor/Council Confirms					
Robert W. Beets	Third Alternate	11/21/2023	6/30/2024		
Appointed By: Mayor/Council Confirms					